Franklin Method Equestrian Live Stream Workshops

Franklin Method Equestrian

The Supple Psoas

August 22

3pm UK / 10am EST / 7am PST

2 Hour Live Stream Workshop

The psoas is one of the most important muscles that surrounds the lumbar spine. With an arched, sway or hollow back, the psoas is often shortened and tense making it challenging to coordinate movement between your pelvis and torso. 

This workshop will give you an awareness of your psoas and hips to promote a balanced pelvis and spine in the saddle. You will experience a free lower back and improved mobility in your hip joints to produce easy and efficient movement along with your horse.

During this 2 hour workshop you’ll learn how to..

  • Coordinate your hip joint and psoas for better posture and dynamic support in the saddle.
  • Stretch the psoas properly for optimal strength and flexibility which will create more open hip joints.
  • Free the sacroiliac joint from pain and imbalance with psoas and piriformis embodiments.
  • Become aware of any asymmetries in your hip joints that could potentially impact your horse’s way of going.
  • Train your psoas with Franklin Method exercises using Franklin Balls and Franklin Bands.

Included: A PDF guide of all the exercises and embodiments from the workshop.

Cost: $27 USD

Franklin Method Equestrian

Fascia of The Lower Back

July 22

5pm UK / 12pm EST / 9am PST

2 Hour Live Stream Workshop

The thoracolumbar fascia is a mid-way on the back of the body that has multi-directional connections. Due to the fascial connections, an imbalance or restriction in one area can create disfunction in another area. For example, a tight or lifted shoulder can affect movement in the opposite hip. In the workshop, we’ll explore fascia and muscle slings; including, the fastest and most effective training methods for creating healthy fascia. Embodying muscles slings and fascial connections in riding can be a lot of fun!

During this 2 hour workshop you’ll learn how to…

  • Embody the TLF for force absorption to make following your horse’s bigger movements feel much easier.
  • Train the TLF so it will create dynamic stability in the lower back for an independent seat.
  • Practice simple and effective exercises to quickly relieve lower back tension that you can do either in or out of the saddle.
  • Use Franklin Bands in order to train the fascia for support and elasticity.

Included: A PDF guide of all the exercises and embodiments from the workshop.

Cost: $27 USD

Franklin Method Equestrian

Abdominals & Core

June 24

5pm UK / 12pm EST / 9am PST

2 Hour Live Stream Workshop

Riders need to have a stable ‘core’ that will support their torso as they are sitting on top of an ever moving base (their horse). 

Often riders will try to engage or brace their core in an effort to increase stability. The body moves as a cohesive whole; if movement is inhibited in one area, movement will be blocked in other areas. This poses a challenge for stability; how does a rider remain stable and upright in the saddle while still moving the pelvis easily?

During this 2 hour workshop you’ll learn how to…

  • Create stability in your core while still allowing for movement in your seat.
  • Effectively counterbalance the movement from your horse so your torso looks still.
  • Embody the mechanisms that provide dynamic stability.
  • Train the abdominal and ‘core’ muscles using Franklin Balls.

Included: A PDF guide of all the exercises and embodiments from the workshop.

Cost: $27 USD

Breathing for Riding

May 26

 5pm UK / 12pm EST / 9am PST

 2 Hour Live Stream Workshop

 Breathing well is an important skill to master which will have a big effect on your overall riding. Breathing is a vital action that brings oxygen into the body and gives it energy. Breathing is also closely tied in to our mental and emotional state of being. When you breathe fully, you communicate a calm and relaxed state to your horse. When your breathing is restricted, you communicate the opposite which can lead to tension and lack of movement. 

During this 2 hour workshop you’ll learn…

  • Why changes to your breathing will impove your posture in the saddle.
  • How to reduce tension and increase movement in the ribcage.
  • Breathing techniques to help you stay calm and focused especially during a show or competition.
  • Simple exercises you can do daily to train your primary breathing muscle.

 Included: A PDF guide of all the exercises and embodiments from the workshop.

Cost: $27 USD

The Elastic Seat

May 19

5pm UK / 12pm EST /9am PST

2 Hour Live Stream Workshop

Your seat needs to be supportive and flexible with many movement possibilities. As the biggest point of contact you have with your horse, increasing awareness in your seat will improve your communication.

During this 2 hour workshop you’ll learn…

  • What it means to have elasticity in your seat.
  • Why an elastic seat makes you easier to carry and helps you follow your horse’s movement more smoothly.
  • How to train your seat for support within flexibility.
  • Specific exercises you can do at home to strengthen your seat.

Included: A PDF guide of all the exercises and embodiments from the workshop.

Cost: $27 USD

Franklin Ball Basics

May 12

6pm UK / 1pm EST / 10am PST

60 Minute Live Stream Workshop

During this free workshop you’ll learn how to use the Franklin Balls within our Franklin Method® core principles to maximize their benefits. We’ll be going over the ins and outs of using Franklin Balls and how to incorporate them into your training routine.

You’ll learn…

  • The different variations of Franklin Balls and their benefits.
  • Which balls are best for different uses.
  • Dismounted exercises using the Franklin Balls to reduce tension, improve awareness and strengthen your pelvic floor.